Chocolate Cupcakes with maple brown sugar and cinnamon “icing”

Gluten Free, Soy Free, Dairy Free and (almost) Guilt Free!

During a beautiful party this past Sunday, celebrating a 25th Wedding Anniversary, I caught myself admiring custom cupcakes which, although beautiful, were full of gluten, dairy and (according to those that consumed them) were far too sweet.  It made me sad to think I may never get the chance to endulge my sweet tooth with cake again.

 

 

I love to bake!  I use to have fun with it too, decorating my own custom cakes with my partner (see pictures below).

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Now that I am GF, SF and both my partner and I are DF, things have changed.  With my birthday coming up less than a month away, I vowed to myself that I would find a suitable recipe for the occasion. After hours of research, I had a handful of recipes on the short list that almost fit the bill. But not quite.  Not one hit all the necessary objective points required (GF SF DF).  So I took it upon myself to make the necessary substitutions and test the results on my co-workers.

Thus far, feedback has been fabulous!  (Ben has had 3 this morning, so far…)  They are moist and chocolaty and the “icing” reminds you of holiday family gatherings with that kick of cinnamon spice.  The perfect balance between a chocolate cake and a pumpkin pie.  You can use the base recipe for cake as well, or pour the batter into 30 cupcake liners.

This recipe made 18 cupcakes and one 8 inch cake (I wanted to test for density and moisture at different sizes.). 

Cupcake Ingredients

  • 2 3/4 c chickpea flour, sifted twice
  • 1 3/4 c brown sugar
  • 3/4 c cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 c olive oil
  • 1 c coconut milk
  • 1 c boiling water

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350’f
  2. In a large bowl, mix sifted flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and powder + salt
  3. Mix in eggs, vanilla, olive oil and coconut milk
  4. Add boiling water and whisk till smooth
  5. Fill cupcake cups till 1/2 full and bake 18-20 min

“Icing” Ingredients

  • 2 cups of cooked chickpeas or 1 14 oz can, drained and rinsed.
  • 1/4 c almond butter
  • 1/4 c maple syrup
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • optional: a few tbsp of coconut milk to thin out mixture

“Icing” Directions

  1. optional: remove skins from chickpeas (this will allow for a smoother texture, but is time consuming, so I said screw it and skipped it after doing 1/4c)
  2. Throw all ingredients, except for coconut milk, into food processor and puree.  Add coconut milk if you want it a bit thinner for frosting.
  3. Frost your cakes and enjoy!

Now you know why “icing” was in quotations.  It’s kinda like more of a sweet hummus, but if you don’t tell anyone, they won’t know 😉

Leave a Reply

